Skip to content

Dia-Blog Day, 2011 – Scrapbookin’ Ahoy!!

November 9, 2011

I was getting cranky this evening, asking myself those silly questions like “what’m I gonna do with the rest of my life,” “what’s the point,” etc. Silly stuff.  (Did I mention funding applications are due, it’s raining outside, and I have a cold?) Diabetes meanwhile has been annoying the crap outta me this week. Every night when I give my Lantus shot I ask, “Seriously? THIS again? Does it ever stop?” (Nope. Not til it REALLY stops, and I hope that won’t be for awhile.)

I’ve been super-resolved in this new apartment to keep the test-strip-littering to a minimum. I do almost a daily sweep to keep these buggers out of my life. And yet, in my crankiness this evening, I looked around and still saw SO MANY DAMN STRIPS everywhere that I wanted to throw things and cry.

So I decided, instead, to make an arts-and-craft project out of them.

Lucky for me, today is Diabetes Blog Day, and this year’s blog-requirement just happens to be to make a scrapbook project about da beetuz. Perfect!

Half an hour later, after scouring my apartment for every spare test strip I could find (which is a lot, considering my daily sweep), with the one rule that I wouldn’t pull any strips outta the garbage, I have my contribution:

glucose test strips art project

It’s the best message I can give myself, and all of us, on the days when diabetes is being a diabastard.  Mad props to all us diabadasses out there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sondra permalink
    November 10, 2011 9:54 am

    Keep Blogging and ROCK-ON……..

Trackbacks

  1. Slap me with a Veo Sensor « Running with Diabetes

Leave a Reply

