Skip to content

Small Victories: I’m Pump-Worthy!

March 26, 2011

Great news came to me this week. The graduate student’s health insurance policy at Wilfrid Laurier, where I’ll be starting my master‘s this fall, covers the cost of the insulin pump!

This means I’ll be able to hang on to my Quebec residency for a little while longer. I was gonna switch to Ontario residency as soon as I moved, in order to qualify for the FREE pump the province gives diabetics (though unlike Quebec, the province won’t pay for the insulin, the stuff that actually keeps you alive…). But Quebec, though not a pump-funder, has way cushier student loan packages.

So I’ll get the best of both worlds, hopefully! Pump AND bursaries.

I’m still not entirely comfortable about the idea of a pump. I’m not sure how ready I am to be attached to a piece of equipment 24/7, neither am I thrilled about the wardrobe-modifications that pumping requires. I seem to have a pretty good grip on my blood sugars with my Lantus and Humalog twin-team of injections, and wonder at the need to fix something that ain’t broke.

Still, I know insulin pumping is considered the finer tool for diabetes management. I’ve read the countless testimonies from people who swear the pump was the best thing that ever happened to them. I am passionate about managing my diabetes (yes, PASSIONATE), and will take whatever tools are offered to me. I wasn’t exactly ready ten months ago to be handed a life-sentence of insulin-dependency either, but I’ve been handling it just fine. The pump will be another big step, another learning curve, another opportunity to reach out for support, and…ultimately, another oddly-positive life experience.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 10:49 pm

    In 20 months of pump-wearing, I’ve never made a single wardrobe alteration! Unless you always wear dresses and can’t hook your pump on your bra, or you wear tucked-in tops, there’s no need for any of that. I just hook the pump onto my waistband most of the time, or on my bra if wearing a dress.

    I also have a few pump cases/bags, and frankly they were a waste of money because I never use them.

    Hope you love the pump as much as I do!

  2. March 29, 2011 12:40 pm

    I was the same way – I thought there was no way I would want something attached to me 24/7. But I tried it and I love it! See if you can do a pump trial where you fill the reservoir with saline. This will give you a feel for what it would be like to wear one without committing to it. In my case I did saline trials with three different pump brands before deciding on the one I wanted. Good luck!

    • March 29, 2011 1:12 pm

      wow, thank you for that advice!! I will most definitely try to do a trial. And thanks for visiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

