Skip to content

A Running-with-Diabetes Success Story

March 19, 2011

Wednesday morning I slipped my running shoes into my backpack as I jutted off to work, hoping to squeeze in an hour’s run over lunch. But when I arrived at work, and did my routine post-breakfast blood check at 9:30am, a disappointing sight awaited me as I snapped open my case of test strips.

I had only 3 test strips left!! Definitely not enough to last me through the day, let alone a run. Silly Sarah, I thought, leaving the house low on supplies. I envisioned the three unopened boxes of test strips I’d just bought the day before, stacked inconveniently on my dresser top at home. Oh well, I’d just have to fit in a trip sometime that morning to the nearest branch of my pharmacy. A quick google search showed me that the nearest Jean Coutu was 1.2km away. Another one 3.3km away. I could slip out mid-morning, claiming medical emergency, or just couple a trip to the pharmacy with a run.

Did a blood glucose check. All good. 2 test strips to go.

Fast forward to 11:30, half-an-hour before my lunch break. Did blood check – 8.5. Good enough for a run, I figured. I swallowed a handful of raisins just in case.

12pm. Slipped my credit card into my glucose meter kit, tucked my feet into my running shoes, grabbed a ziplock baggie of dried fruit, and away I went. The weather was warmish and wet, a faint drizzle providing a refreshing film on my otherwise sweaty brow.

I ran at a comfortable and invigorating pace until I reached the Jean Coutu some 3.3kms along. I ran right up to the glass doors, pranced my way to the back counter, and placed an order with the pharmacist for one single box of test strips. “It won’t be long,” she told me, smiling. “Five minutes-ish?” I inquired. “Oh, probably less.”

I was pricking my finger and testing all the while having this conversation, using the very last test strip: 5.1. Good. Time to have a snack and wait a bit anyways.

My order came up, and it turned out my monthly deductible was maxed out, so there was no charge for this box. Sweet. I asked her if I could leave the box and my now-empty container with her, and just take the solo bottle of test strips. I slipped the new container of strips into my glucose kit, and was off on the roads again.

It was a breezy downhill run back to work. I bounced into the building with glowing cheeks, and did a glucose check. 6.1. Heaven.

New box of free test strips? Check. Awesome public drug plan? Check. Rock-star pharmacists? Check. Ideal glucose readings? Check. Gratifying run? Check. One happy, satisfied, diabadass Sarah? Uh-huh.

It is lovely when things fall into place diabetically. It makes up for the times when they don’t. Like when two nights ago as I was falling asleep I thought to myself, “hey, we haven’t had a hypo-episode in almost a week. Good for us!” Of course, the next morning I woke up early because I’d dropped to a 3.3. And then I had another low that afternoon. And another low this morning. And another low this afternoon.

I do my best not to get frustrated. It’s a lesson in staying equanimous. But it sure feels good when things click.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sondra permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:30 am

    I read your blog and I am excited to follow your training. You are an example to all who have diabetes. Many people with diabetes can not accept it or are ashamed to tell anyone. Not you. You are the voice for many. You have diabetes, take insulin, test your blood sugars and live a wonderful and exciting life. I am glad you joined Team Diabetes. I have done 4 marathons with Team Diabetes. I look forward to doing my fifth in Ottawa. Being a part of Team Diabetes has been very rewarding. You’ll soon see. See you in Ottawa.

Trackbacks

  1. A Shout-Out to Diabetes Educators: a quick lunch-time post « Pearson Writes

Leave a Reply

